Author Topic: Relay clicks when ignition is turned on. Will not turn over.  (Read 3911 times)

Offline Dwirfel

• New Egg
Good Morning!!!

Please forgive me...  I'm new to Moto Guzzi and worse yet, I don't know my way around forums... 

However, I bought a 2007 Norge for my son and it has issues.  I need HELP!  Recently, it stopped running as he was cruising down the highway.  He saw a disconnected ECU symbol on his dash.   I had to trailer him to my garage.  In my garage, we found that the bike will not turnover and it has a loud clicking relay under the seat.   I checked the battery and cleaned the terminals.  Upon replacing the relay the problem remained the same, however  it would occasionally stop clicking and the bike would turnover, but not start, then the clicking would reappear.  We were able to make that happen several times, but not consistently.  Today, I cannot make the clicking stop regardless of how much I manipulate the wires... 

I replaced the battery with new, checked the fuses, cleaned & applied dielectric grease to all connections(under the seat)... Upon switching on the ignition, the dash continues to cycle up, but the relay clicks the entire time (wont stop until the ignition is off), and after the cycle, the symbol of disconnected ECU appears.  (I have no clue where the ECU is).  Basically, the problem remains the same...

I don't hear the fuel pump cycle, but I don't know if I could over the clicking!  However, I did hear it the few times that the clicking stopped for a few seconds. 

The relay is a four pin and is the one connected to the large harness that ties into the main harness...

The nearest MOTO GUZZI dealer, in MD, is swamped and can't take the bike until late August...  That sucks!  Maybe with some guidance, we can get back on the road!!!

Thanks guys!  I hope that I posted it the correct place!!!  Dereck

Offline Two Checks

• Gaggle Hero
Re: Relay clicks when ignition is turned on. Will not turn over.