Author Topic: Old ambassador fuel petcock issue  (Read 2724 times)

Offline ampm7

• Gosling
Old ambassador fuel petcock issue
« on: July 16, 2018, 03:47:42 PM »
I have a 1970 Ambassador and was wondering what the proper positioning is for the fuel petcocks. I rode the bike for 2,000 miles before it blew the right side piston (facing forward as seated). I changed to Gilardoni's and it was working good just not working in 3rd and 4th but that's another story. I had originally been using the left side fuel petcock in a down position and the bike worked quite well. Is the metal crossover in the fuel lines able to mix fuel for both carburetors or not? It seems to me like on my old Triumph that the left side was used for the reserve as your throttle hand did not have to leave the throttle. How do you guys do it? When I put the right hand petcock in a down position it floods the carb and comes out the velocity stack. I really don't like these petcocks and they are 2 years old because they never completely shut off! I bought them from MG Cycle which is awesome but...I also inspected them and the o-rings are fine. In other words what is the correct positioning for run mode on the Ambassador? Charlie if you are out there, I tried to find Yahoo loop frame forum of which I was a member a few years ago and then I had a major problem with accessing the forum and gave up. If you can send a link it would be greatly appreciated.
1970 Moto Guzzi Ambassador, 1998 EV, Honda 1972 850 Ambassador, 2022 Indian Super Chief Limited

Offline Kiwi_Roy

• Gaggle Hero
Re: Old ambassador fuel petcock issue
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2018, 03:56:04 PM »
I have an Eldorado with the sugar cube style petcocks (original with parts from John Chicoine)
John supplied filters that have different length stand-pipes to allow for a reserve.

I only ever open Left side but with both sides open it will not flood, I suggest you have a bad needle valve or float has sunk.