Author Topic: Block-K sidecar tire  (Read 2659 times)

Offline rodekyll

• Gaggle Hero
  • Not my real name
Block-K sidecar tire
« on: April 25, 2016, 07:53:43 AM »
Almost as soon as I started riding the trike I decided that the Metzeler 88 on the front had to go.  The round profile and high-speed tread pattern wasn't tracking or braking the way I imagined it should.  The issue of course is always getting a shop willing to ship my choice of tire to Sitka (we haven't any local store that is willing to order one).  BAck when I had money, I bought Ural tires (Duro HF308) in 400x19-6-ply for the rear but was unable to find stock in 400x18 for the front.

Now that I'm prepping for a trip I'm up against the need for a sidecar-type (flat profile) front tire.  Still no Duro in stock anywhere that will ship to Alaska, and for some reason I can't find Avon or Dunlop triple-duty in 18" rim sizes.  I finally found Metzeler Block-K sidecar tires in 400x18.  They're another tube type and 2x the cost of a Duro (sigh).  But MC-Powersports in MI says they'll ship for free and the profile appears pretty flat.  We'll see how true both of those observations are over the next few days.

In the meantime, does anyone have a review of the Metzeler Block-K sidecar tire they'd like to share?  How flat are they?  Mileage?  Performance?  Anyone ever run them as tubeless?

Offline grebmrof

• Gaggle Hero
Re: Block-K sidecar tire
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2016, 08:17:08 AM »
I've used them on a /2 outfit that I've had (both front & rear of the bike) - very flat, seemed to wear like iron (don't know their mileage life) and I thought put a better patch of rubber down.  Ran them with tubes on wire spoked wheels.  Good that you've found one and a place to ship it to you.
'22 Royal Enfield Int650
'08 Triumph Bonneville T100

Offline BillinPA

• Gaggle Mentor
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2016, 10:52:31 AM »