Author Topic: Gloves. I need gloves.  (Read 6252 times)

Offline Toecutter

• Gaggle Hero
Gloves. I need gloves.
« on: August 14, 2018, 03:12:38 PM »
I need a riding glove. Brown. Leather. Built for riding... but not "modern gladiator" looking crap.

I've been buying Joe Rocket "Iron Age" gloves for the past three years, because I can't find anything else I like, and, I guess, I'm a sucker for punishment.

They never last the season. First and second pair blew out the fingertips, in a few fingers. Second pair wore though the thumb. Just bought a third pair, because I needed a pair for the return trip home yesterday and it was all I could find in my size (despite me saying I'd never buy another pair), and the stitching over the thumb "reinforcement" blew out within 120 km.

Anyone got any suggestions? I'd appreciate it.

Brown. Leather. Understated, but functional.
Old enough to say I've done it, young enough to do it again.

Offline Ncdan

• Global Moderator
  • Gaggle Hero
Re: Gloves. I need gloves.
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2018, 04:01:31 PM »
How about some good quality deerskin gloves like Ponch and John, on CHIPS, use to wear:)

Offline mjptexas

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2018, 04:07:43 PM »
I bought a pair of Held summer gloves (Rodney model) at the start of this riding season and have been pretty happy with them.  100% leather with perforations.  They have held up very nicely.  I checked and they have a number of gloves in brown leather.  Manufacturer website is here (I bought them through Revzilla):

https://shop.held.de/en/men-s/gloves/?p=1&o=1&n=12&f=478%7C418

Be forewarned - they are not cheap.
Mike

'18 R Nine T Urban GS
'17 Griso
'16 XL1200 Roadster
'15 Monster 821
'14 Cali Custom
'14 Vespa GTS300 Super
'15 Vespa Primavera
'75 CB400F
'76 CB550F

Offline kidsmoke

• Gaggle Hero
  • It's never too late to be what you might have been
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2018, 04:27:00 PM »