Author Topic: Olive oil as a Guzzi cleaner.  (Read 1691 times)

Offline wavedog

• Gaggle Mentor
Olive oil as a Guzzi cleaner.
« on: December 08, 2016, 08:01:44 PM »
So, I have been using a multi layer gel pad on my Jackal seat for a few years now. The stock seat is so low for me that my knees are higher than my hips. At least it feels like it. So the gel pad would raise me up enough so that I could last at least a hundred miles before body parts started protesting. The gel pad has just about reached the end of its life. The non skid rubber backing has been leaving a gooey mess on the seat. I have been in the garage for several hours trying all sorts of stuff to clean the seat and nothing would remove the goo from the seat. So, after sitting there contemplating the problem, listening to some Stan Getz, it occurred to me 'hey this thing is Italian- try some olive oil.' I liberally applied some good xtra virgin Italian stuff that I was saving for a special occasion, let it sit for ten minutes and what do you know. Most of the goo came off. Yeah!

Offline SED

• Gaggle Hero
Re: Olive oil as a Guzzi cleaner.
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2016, 11:47:31 PM »
 :thumb:
1983 LeMans III
1981 Monza
1947 Ariel Red Hunter
1939 Ariel Red Hunter
1937 Guzzi GTV

Moto

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2016, 12:01:27 AM »
Perfectly consistent with my own favorable experience of using Italian Agip motor oil to recondition my Italian Sidi boots (admittedly courtesy of a valve cover failure).

It just makes sense. (Thanks for the tip.)

Moto

P.S. A previous owner had a gel pad installed inside the seat of my T3, and it's never given me a problem. You might consider having an auto upholsterer split the seam and slides yours in.

Offline Mr Pootle

• Gaggle Mentor
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2016, 11:31:14 AM »
Every region in Italy reckons their olive oil is the best. You'll need to tell us whereabouts yours came from.

Wildguzzi.com

« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2016, 11:31:14 AM »