Author Topic: '98 EV cranks but won't start  (Read 6129 times)

Online Antietam Classic Cycle

• Gaggle Hero
  • Happily stuck in the past.
    • Antietam Classic Cycle
'98 EV cranks but won't start
« on: April 23, 2018, 12:39:32 PM »
Lemuel Stephens forwarded this email to me this morning. FI/EI bikes are not my "thing" and I have little experience with them, so I'd just be offering "wild a$$ guess" advice to this gentleman. Perhaps one of you could be of more help?

> From: Robert Turner <shiloh318@yahoo.com>
> Date: April 23, 2018 at 14:15:09 GMT+2
> To: Lemuel Stephens <lemueljstephens@gmail.com>
> Subject: Re: 98 EV11 Cali cranks but won't start
> Reply-To: Robert Turner <shiloh318@yahoo.com>
>
>> Hello
> Lemuel, Robert Turner from Marlinton (WV) here. If you are well
> versed in Guzziology and could lend some advise or expertise
> I could use some help. Bike was running fine, only 19k
> miles, fuel pump runs, can hear relays click on/off when
> keyed, plugs seem dry, can't see any spark, fuses all 6
> look good too. Battery voltage good at 12.6-8 after charge,
> seems to crank a tad slow though? Any real Guzzi mechanics
> in West Virginia? Could trailer to Wooster, Ohio or
> Winchester, Va. but don't really have big bucks after
> buying it to spend (retired/fixed income) If you know
> anybody or anything, call day or night!  three zero four - six four six - six six nine two
>> Hey, it ran gloriously for a week! Loved
> it, cooler than a 52 Vincent to us. No matter what, ride
> safe, ride long. Robert

Charlie

Offline pehayes

• Gaggle Hero
    • Falcone Touring
Re: '98 EV cranks but won't start
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2018, 12:55:41 PM »
With the sidestand out, this model will not even crank.

If it is still in this crank/no-start condition, hook up the diagnostic lamp and see if it will throw a code.  Hopefully it will specify the faulty component.  I have pics of the light and connector if you need them.