Author Topic: 2003 moto guzzi stone engine tapping  (Read 27945 times)

Offline Rico88

• New Egg
2003 moto guzzi stone engine tapping
« on: December 14, 2014, 07:46:40 PM »
So I just got the recall done at a new moto guzzi dealership. I was pleased with them, and it seems like they actually did all the work they were supposed to (which is always a plus).  Anywhoo.

I noticed the engine makes a tapping sound on both heads. I don't know for sure or not if this was there before, since I am still relatively new to this bike. The noise sounds like metal hitting metal, and it persists with acceleration, after the bike has warmed up, and at freeway speeds). It is not super loud, but you can still hear it. It feels almost like something is hitting the head cover. When I put my glove on the head cover and the engine is idling, it doesn't sound as "tinky" anymore it sounds more like a muffled thud and I feel a tap tap tap tap vibration through my glove. So that's why I think the engine cover maybe what resonates the sound, and may be one of the metal pieces that is making contact with another metal piece.

My other theory is that the valves maybe trying to close too far, and the sound of that contact is most easily heard through the head cover.

Any ideas?

Vasco DG

Re: 2003 moto guzzi stone engine tapping
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2014, 07:56:47 PM »
Whip off a rocker cover and make sure they have snapped the tops off the adjusters. If they haven't then the tops of the adjusters bash on the rocker covers.

Offline Rico88

• New Egg
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2014, 09:40:19 AM »
I'll check that out! I am hoping it is something that simple.
 ;-T

Offline Late to the party

• Gosling
  • 1987 1000 SP2
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2014, 03:45:31 PM »
Whip off a rocker cover and make sure they have snapped the tops off the adjusters. If they haven't then the tops of the adjusters bash on the rocker covers.

That would simply wreck my day.

Wildguzzi.com