Author Topic: Gear oil in bell housing  (Read 9081 times)

Offline kevdog3019

• Gaggle Hero
Gear oil in bell housing
« on: April 25, 2015, 03:13:24 PM »
Hmmm... looks like I gots a leak.  Getting gear lube in my bell housing on the Lario.  Tell me what's involved in my near future.  Output shaft (to flywheel)?  If so, what's the routine?  Aargh!
Thanks
'86 V65 "Super" Lario
'85 Honda Nighthawk 700s
'86 V65 Lario

Offline Bill N

• Gosling
Re: Gear oil in bell housing
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2015, 04:02:56 PM »
Are you sue it's that stinky gear oil or perhaps engine oil? I've been weeping engine oil out of the bell for a couple of years now. My guess in any case if it's minor you'll be ok for a few years. Looking forward to other comments.
Bill

Offline Waterbottle

• Gaggle Mentor
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2015, 04:29:47 PM »
 Is it a Drip...... or a Drip Drip Drip.      Didn't older triumphs have a tray under the gearbox /engine you could pull out and clean ?  ???
2015 Griso SE Rosso
2012 Stelvio 8V
2009 Griso R  Track only
76 GT 750 Suzuki
If you Ride a Griso, You need Tyres with Gription

Vasco DG

« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2015, 04:35:13 PM »
If it's gear oil it will either be the input shaft seal or the seals on the clutch pushrod leaking.

Pete

Wildguzzi.com

« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2015, 04:35:13 PM »

Offline kevdog3019

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2015, 04:52:56 PM »
 Turns out it's now a drip drip drip and pretty oily when I stuck my finger in the hole. I noticed some last year coming out the bottom most bolt that holds the bell onto the engine casing yep... way up front). Didn't realize it's probably been there all along after getting the bike back.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2015, 07:57:05 PM by kevdog3019 »
'86 V65 "Super" Lario
'85 Honda Nighthawk 700s
'86 V65 Lario

Offline Guido Valvole

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2015, 05:09:00 PM »