Author Topic: V7-II Brake Help in New Orleans  (Read 1422 times)

Offline swordds

• Hatchling
  • (504)234-9011
V7-II Brake Help in New Orleans
« on: September 26, 2017, 04:50:27 PM »
I have a 2016 V7-II with 23,000 miles. My rear brake has started making a dragging/grinding noise and the disk is starting to look rough, like maybe a brake liner rivet has worn through. Obviously I am no mechanic but I love my motorcycle. Here is my question:  the nearest dealer where I have always brought it for service is 184 miles away and I have no access to a towing vehicle so is it reasonable for me just to bring it to any local shop (Suzuki, Harley, Honda, BMW/Triumph) for this?  My other alternative is to drive it the 184 miles, almost all Interstate, trying to avoid using the rear brake.
2016 V7II Stone
2016 Suzuki TU250X (lost in the great flood of ought 16)

In the future I will strive to tolerate everything except intolerance and to hate nothing except hatred.

Online Kev m

• Not your normal Hombre
  • Gaggle Hero
  • Yo from Medford, NJ
Re: V7-II Brake Help in New Orleans
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2017, 04:57:05 PM »
Assuming it's not a warranty issue, yes any decent dealer should be able to help you, especially a brand that also uses Brembo brakes.

You might also check closer yourself to see what it dragging. It could be as simple as a worn brake pad. Though I suspect the brake lining material on most bikes is all bonded and not riveted these days.
Current Fleet

18 Guzzi V7III Carbon Dark
13 Guzzi V7 Stone
11 Duc M696

pete roper

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2017, 05:15:16 PM »
Once you're through the friction material it'll start grinding away the backing plate.

Now you've grooved the disc you'll need a new one of those too. Checking pad wear is in the same maintenance list as puting petrol in the tank and checking the engine oil level. Learn from the experience. Pads are cheap. Discs? Not so much.

Pete

Offline TimmyTheHog

• Gaggle Mentor