Author Topic: 1971 Ambassador .... suggestions ?  (Read 7205 times)

Offline motormike131

• New Egg
    • wildguzzi
1971 Ambassador .... suggestions ?
« on: September 08, 2017, 01:19:11 PM »

Good Day... got this from a estate sale a few weeks ago. Claimed to be a one owner, 38,000. $1600.oo.
It came with the solo seat and a home made passenger pad that also lifted up to become a backrest for the rider. I sourced a proper saddle quickly knowing the other half would not be pleased with a .. pad.
   We did a 5 day weekend ride..back roads, freeway. Always fired straight away..no engine issues. I'm still learning the proper shift in relation to engine speed. Same issue with my Cushman...let the engine speed slow down.. then shift. Not a bike I'd take to the Tail of the Dragon..it runs into real estate quickly on the left side.
  So far I'm pleased with the bike and entertaining the idea of a proper paint job. The " barf blue " isn't working for me. These came in black, white and red. Here locally there are a couple of very nice black ones.. I'm not a fan of white.. Red..?
On this section there's a red one posted. Very nice. I'm lean'n towards red, with match'd red on the bags, fared, pin stripes, with white walls. I discovered it sat low.. then found a pair of " c " clamps on the lower section of shock springs, held in pace with a hose clamp..?.. I pop'd the clamps off and now the bike sits better.
   Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you for your time.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2017, 01:20:55 PM by motormike131 »
1929 Motobecane, 70' Xs650, 75' Xs650 Police, 50' Alycon (fire) 51' & 52' Terrot (police) 52' Peugeot (M/police), 65 Tri 650, 68' Cb450P (police).70' 450 Ducati, 75' Condor, 71' Ambassador, 62' Cushman, 82' Cx500P trike (police) 06 Helix, 10' Enfield w/sidecar, 42' Harley flattie, 1 wife

Offline toolittletime

• Gosling
    • mysportgear.com
Re: 1971 Ambassador .... suggestions ?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2017, 09:26:18 PM »