Author Topic: Late 70's V50III - What to look out for? (pictures)  (Read 9610 times)

iamcitizenme

Late 70's V50III - What to look out for? (pictures)
« on: May 12, 2015, 10:17:09 AM »
Hello everyone. I'm new to Guzzis. I had a 78 Honda CB550 that I spilled and twisted the frame. Now I find a V50III in a barn behind my house and I'm curious what to look out for. The starter was stuck so I tapped the back of it and now it cranks sometimes and other times it just spins without catching. It doesn't start but I haven't pulled the carbs off yet and I plan on pouring some fresh gas in once things are cleaned out. The airbox has been removed and the owner gave it to me and it looks pretty dry-rotted; cracked and fulla holes. It only has 8,000 miles on it and the tires look pretty good and the owner didn't modify it in any way other than the airbox. We're trying to figure out what it might need so we can discuss price. It's a beautiful bike so I want to get it working. I just want to know if it's worth it.

Chris
New York
« Last Edit: May 12, 2015, 11:41:04 AM by iamcitizenme »

Offline Idontwantapickle

• Gaggle Hero
  • The rotation of the earth really makes my day.
Re: Late 70's V50III - What to look out for?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2015, 10:22:36 AM »
 :PICS!: would help us with condition and whatnot.
Generally speaking a V50II is not worth a whole lot unless it's PERFECT in every way. A non-running barn find won't top 1000, probably much less. That being said anything is worth what someone is willing to pay for it.
Hunter
There is no end to what we can do together.
Sir James Paul McCartney

AMA Charter Life Member

72 Eldo
85 LeMans 1000 Loud, Fast and Red
2007 Norge rivestimento di argento
84 BMW R100RS

Online Chuck in Indiana

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2015, 10:26:04 AM »
Welcome to WG.  ;D That's a good one, and definitely worth saving. Needless to say, throw the tires away..