Author Topic: Newbie here. Question reg my v12 sport.  (Read 6656 times)

Padsta

Newbie here. Question reg my v12 sport.
« on: February 21, 2017, 07:50:54 AM »
Hello. I'm new too Guzzis, do please be patient with me.
Have just purchased a V12 sport corsa, registered on 19th Jan 2012.
It's mint with just over 4K. Day after buying I researched on net and found out that the cams go on these bikes?!
I understand there was a recall to fit rollers or something?
It doesn't have all the service stamps from dealer, only 1.
Are they all going to fail, or is it pot luck?
It sounds totally fine right now.
Am I worrying too much?
Any advice would be brilliant.
It's just cost me an arm and a leg, I don't want to be spending more at the moment.
Cheers all.

pete roper

Re: Newbie here. Question reg my v12 sport.
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2017, 08:53:48 AM »
1200 Sports were never made with rollers. There never was a 'recall' but all flat tappet 8V's are going to fail. How many miles/Km on the bike? Where are you located? Do you have a good dealer?

If the bike has a full service history then if you get it inspected and damage is found to be evident then Piaggio will provide a kit to rollerise it but you will be expected to pay for installation. No service history? They'll give you nothing. Sorry.

Being a Sport it will need either a 'C' or a 'D' kit both of which require the heads to come off.

Pete

Padsta

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2017, 09:23:37 AM »
1200 Sports were never made with rollers. There never was a 'recall' but all flat tappet 8V's are going to fail. How many miles/Km on the bike? Where are you located? Do you have a good dealer?

If the bike has a full service history then if you get it inspected and damage is found to be evident then Piaggio will provide a kit to rollerise it but you will be expected to pay for installation. No service history? They'll give you nothing. Sorry.