Author Topic: Any IT Experts here?  (Read 3711 times)

Offline scra99tch

• Gaggle Hero
Any IT Experts here?
« on: June 29, 2015, 05:26:10 PM »
I am playing around with a junkyard find.  I have a bunch of these HP MSM466 Outdoor wireless access points I am trying to get to work.  They all power on and seem like they are communicating but when I put in the default gateway in my web browser I get no where.

These things are prototype units from HP.  I have 2 that are working which have dual radios in them.  The others only have a single radio and I cannot get into the setup pages even after a hard reset. 

there is a sticker on each of them listing 101 AL1 10.1.1.101 and 105 AL1 10.1.1.105 if that helps.

Maybe it was not meant to be.  Anyways I am no expert here so my terminology and methods are limited.

Thanks
1974 Eldorado
2007 California Vintage

Offline rbm

• Gosling
Re: Any IT Experts here?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2015, 08:34:07 PM »
From the user manual for the unit you referenced:

Using the reset button
This technique forces the AP into its factory defaults state including switching the AP back into
controlled mode.
Using a tool such as a paper clip, press and hold the reset button for a few seconds until the front
status lights blink three times.
Using the management tool
Launch the management tool (default https://192.168.1.1).
To reset the AP to factory defaults, keeping it in autonomous mode, follow this procedure:
1. Select Maintenance > Config file management.

If you've already tried this and the units don't respond, maybe they are defective or bricked.  You do know that you'll have to hard configure an IP address on your workstation in the same subnet as the router when you do a factory reset since any DHCP server will probably not be working.  Also, you're best to direct cable connect the laptop to the AP because probably administrative interfaces are not enabled on the wireless NICs.