Author Topic: New to Moto Guzzi  (Read 2875 times)

Offline foxbat

• New Egg
New to Moto Guzzi
« on: March 30, 2020, 05:14:04 PM »
I am a newbie here and looking to buy a Moto Guzzi. I love cruisers and was looking at a used California. I have a Triumph Thunderbird 1600cc right now. I have never ridden a Mottoguzzi before and what are is the advice in buying a California and how different is the ride to other cruisers to the California? Is California the best cruiser of Mottoguzzi?
Thank you very much.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 08:12:53 PM by oldbike54 »

Online Dave Swanson

• Gaggle Hero
  • Northern Illinois USA
Re: New to Mottoguzzi
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2020, 05:42:54 PM »
Which California are you considering?  There have been many over the years.

Dave Swanson - Northern IL
1935 GTS
1968 V700
1973 V7 Sport
1974 Eldo
1974 Police Eldo
1976 Convert
1977 Lemans 1.2
1980 T3 California
1993 1000S - Sparklehorse
2004 V11S - Eraldo-ized
2016 Griso SE - Beetle-ized
2021 V7-850 Stone Centenario
2022 V85TT Guardia d'Onore
2023 V100S

MGNOC L-780

Offline delrod

• Gaggle Mentor
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2020, 05:43:32 PM »
Welcome to the group. As far as the differences there are many. They are a fun platform.which of the California variants are you looking at? Lots of difference between models only thing that seems to be common is they can take some adjustments if you are a long legged build. Ask some specific questions there are lots of opinions here
Doug in Pittsburg KS
2003EVT

Online Dave Swanson

• Gaggle Hero
  • Northern Illinois USA
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2020, 05:47:35 PM »
First off we need to know the model year you are looking at.   There have been "California"  model Guzzis since the 70's. 

The 93 California always comes to my mind.  Fine bike by the way if you are contemplating this one.

« Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 06:13:52 PM by Dave Swanson »
Dave Swanson - Northern IL
1935 GTS
1968 V700
1973 V7 Sport
1974 Eldo
1974 Police Eldo
1976 Convert