Author Topic: seeking GoPro advice please...V7R, helmet?  (Read 7485 times)

lucydad

seeking GoPro advice please...V7R, helmet?
« on: December 28, 2015, 11:16:35 AM »
All,

My daughters gave me a GoPro Hero+ for Christmas.  Lovely daughters indeed.  Anyway, I finally got a microSD card (64 GB) and now can start using the system.  Questions please for the GoPro owners:  1)  do you mount on your helmet?  If so, where:  side or top?  I have the curved stick on mounts, but I am concerned about helmet drag at high speed and where to mount (side, top, front) on the Shoei.  2) what is your preferred on the motorcycle mount location, and type of mount?  There are a lot of options.  3) finally, how do you store/view/edit your videos?  GoPro comes with free edit software.  Do you put videos on YouTube, or elsewhere? 

Thanks for any advice.  I am a fairly low tech device kind of guy.  Fortunately my youngest daughter is still here, and she is a professional motion media/art person.  My plans are for motorcycle riding videos, bicycle videos, poodle walks, and later this year travel and hiking in Colorado, Wyoming and Alaska.

Sun finally came out here, no major wind/rain damage in Sugar Land.  My heart goes out to those north of us dealing with the tornado/flood aftermath.

Thanks in advance! 

jlburgess

Re: seeking GoPro advice please...V7R, helmet?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2015, 12:59:50 PM »
The curved mount is very solid and won't come off the top of a helmet at less than ludicrous speed.  I have a flat mount that I put on the brake master cylinder cover that works well too.  If you position it right you might get the instrument panel in also.  The suction mount if it came with one shouldn't be trusted.  A friend lost one on a track day at 150 mph.  The camera didn't fare so well but the image right before it fell off was awesome! Have fun!
« Last Edit: December 28, 2015, 01:02:33 PM by jlburgess »

Offline blackcat

• Gaggle Hero