Author Topic: cylinder barrel to case fit  (Read 3182 times)

Offline Chuck in Indiana

• Gaggle Hero
cylinder barrel to case fit
« on: March 23, 2015, 04:55:07 PM »
The Kid is working on his cafe project (No Roper Content).  ;D
It has 1000cc barrels. He said when he tore it down it was really sloppy loose. He's going to call me back with dimensions. He's thinking that everything he has is junk.
As I've mentioned before, I'm no Guzzi mechanic. How should the barrels fit the case?
Edit:
I asked for some dimensions, and he said there was 1/16" slop. There was also a 1/16" shim under the barrels. I *assume* that was to lower compression, for whatever reason. He said the rod bearings were toast, and is wondering if the cause is the barrel to case fit. He's no Guzzi mechanic, either, but he's built a lot of airplane and automotive engines.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2015, 05:24:11 PM by Chuck in Indiana »
Chuck in (Elwood) Indiana/sometimes SoCal

87 AeroLario
95 Skorpion tour
22 Royal Enfield Classic 3 fiddy
 "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe."
Albert Einstein

Offline guzzisteve

• Gaggle Hero
  • "Just Ride It"
Re: cylinder barrel to case fit
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2015, 06:46:39 PM »
What block, round cyl or square. There is plenty of clearance but not that much.
Once it goes on the studs it shouldn't move.
I have some base shims to lower compression but they are around .025"
"Pray through Carlo & your bike shall be healed"

Offline Chuck in Indiana

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2015, 06:55:13 PM »
What block, round cyl or square. There is plenty of clearance but not that much.
Once it goes on the studs it shouldn't move.
I have some base shims to lower compression but they are around .025"
It's a Frankenblock, I think. Had a spare convert/oil pan block with it,IIRC. It's been a couple of years, and my memory is about as long as my.. oh, never mind..  ;D
Thanks!

87 AeroLario
95 Skorpion tour