Author Topic: Fat Boy vs Cali 1400?!  (Read 21864 times)

Offline MariusD

• New Egg
Fat Boy vs Cali 1400?!
« on: June 05, 2015, 09:59:36 AM »
Hi everyone,

I'm a long time lurker just don't post much, mostly due to the fact that I don't own a guzzy (yet).

My buddy left me his 2010 fat boy to watch for a couple of months, so I started riding it and found it a very good all around bike, in terms of comfort, agility,etc. I'm 6 ft, and it really fit well. However, I am not an a big fan of the HD brand or the styling of the bike, so I started looking for something comperable from other makes, which brings me to the cali 1400. The closest dealership is about 200 miles away, so i'm doing as much homework as I can before i go test drive one. I was wondering if anyone has riden both bikes and can compare the two in terms of suspension, handling, and overall comfort. I already know both have prenty of power. Also, I read there were some heat issues on the legs/calfs with the cali14, so if you guys can shed some light on that issue, that would be great!

Basically, just looking for a solid, comfy, and fun commuter, and I'm really diggin' the looks of the cali14.

Online Kev m

• Not your normal Hombre
  • Gaggle Hero
  • Yo from Medford, NJ
Re: Fat Boy vs Cali 1400?!
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2015, 10:05:21 AM »
Fat BOY not BOB? Meaning a Softail, not a Dyna right?

When you finally ride a Cali 1400 I think you're going to find it feels a good bit more nimble and every bit as comfortable (though I can't be certain as comfort is subjective).

It MIGHT feel a tad larger/heavier coming off the sidestand due to differences in how/where the weight is carried, but underway that will disappear immediately and it's probably splitting RCHs at this point.
Current Fleet

18 Guzzi V7III Carbon Dark
13 Guzzi V7 Stone
11 Duc M696

Offline mtiberio

• Gaggle Hero
    • TiberioRacing
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2015, 10:08:54 AM »