Author Topic: What's causing this ?  (Read 3315 times)

Offline MGrego

• Gosling
What's causing this ?
« on: October 14, 2015, 07:07:29 PM »
Hi All,

I am in the process of installing the roller conversion kit (going well, thanks to Pete's outstanding instructions) on my 2012 8v Norge, when I noticed that one of the intake ports in the left hand cylinder head had quite a bit of blackish build-up.  The bike has less than 4,000 miles on it, so my concern is that this is not normal and that something is amiss.  The residue is sticky, somewhat varnish-like, and oily. Only one of the two intake valves on that side is affected.  I have tried to post a picture, but I'm not sure if it will show up since I have never tried to post a picture to anything before.

Will getting the valves properly adjusted, the bike properly mapped and tuned fix this, or is something else going on ?

Thank you for your advice -

« Last Edit: October 14, 2015, 07:20:00 PM by Mgrego »

oldbike54

Re: What's causing this ?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2015, 07:08:52 PM »
 Valve guide ?

Dusty

Offline lucian

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2015, 08:39:51 PM »
If it is only in one port it is likely the valve guide oil seal. I think at this point I would pull the heads and pull the valves, clean things up and replace all the oil seals on the guides. Also check that all the valves are seating tightly by putting a little soapy water on top of the valve and blowing compressed air in the port below the valve watching for bubbles on top around the seat. My 09 griso with 6000 miles on it had the same deposits on the left intake side and had some blow by on that inlet valve.I re lapped all eight valves and rechecked them with the soap test before re assembling. You could just do the side with the issue but while your right there with both cam boxes off it's a pretty short trip to do it now.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2015, 08:40:22 PM by lucian »

Offline JoeW

• Gaggle Hero
    • The Guzzi Doctor