Author Topic: OBD II reader recommendations  (Read 4206 times)

Offline vstevens

• Gosling
OBD II reader recommendations
« on: August 02, 2016, 09:18:36 PM »
My Fiat 500 Check engine light came on... the manual says it's ok to drive.  (When the light flashes it is telling you to stop immediately - mine isn't flashing).  Anyway, a car with 70k miles I'm inclined to check myself if possible.  Two questions:

1) what is a reputable reader around 50 bucks.  (The dealer wants 120 dollars to check it).  Oh, and auto parts stores in California won't check codes like in other states- it's against the law.

2) will the reader work on my 2013 V7 stone?  (No problems but just asking)

Thanks in advance.  I've never done this before but it seems like the reader is a useful tool that will save money in the long run.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2016, 09:19:03 PM by vstevens »

Offline Wayne Orwig

• Gaggle Hero
    • Hog Mountain weather
Re: OBD II reader recommendations
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2016, 09:51:08 PM »
Oh, and auto parts stores in California won't check codes like in other states- it's against the law.

I'll add that to my growing list of reasons to not live there.
Scientist have discovered that people will believe anything, if you first say "Scientists have discovered...."

Offline fotoguzzi

• Gaggle Hero
  • vee git tooh soon oldt und too late wise -my Dad
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2016, 09:57:02 PM »
I'll add that to my growing list of reasons to not live there.
LOL
MINNEAPOLIS, MN

elvisboy77

« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2016, 10:11:07 PM »
My Fiat 500 Check engine light came on... the manual says it's ok to drive.  (When the light flashes it is telling you to stop immediately - mine isn't flashing).  Anyway, a car with 70k miles I'm inclined to check myself if possible.  Two questions: