Author Topic: Velocette  (Read 2887 times)

Offline vstevens

• Gosling
Velocette
« on: March 04, 2018, 07:56:57 PM »
Been ogling velocette thruxton and venom on YouTube .  Wow, great bike and history.  Anyone have any experience riding, working on, owning old British singles?

oldbike54

Re: Velocette
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2018, 08:29:11 PM »
 The old Velocette repair kit consists of a pickup truck pulling a trailer full of 100 dollar bills .
So yes , I have some experience with them  :shocked:

Dusty

Offline vstevens

• Gosling
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2018, 08:57:32 PM »
The old Velocette repair kit consists of a pickup truck pulling a trailer full of 100 dollar bills .
So yes , I have some experience with them  :shocked:

Dusty

I suspected that... but wow its gorgeous!  I admire the simple beauty of older machines ... but... neither do I own a pickup or stacks of 100 dollar bills !

Offline jas67

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2018, 09:05:34 PM »
You know you want one  :evil:....

2017 V7III Special
1977 Le Mans
1974 Eldorado
2017 Triumph Thruxton R
2013 Ducati Monster 796, 2013 848 Evo Corse SE, 1974 750GT, 1970 Mk3d 450 Desmo, 1966 Monza 250
1975 Moto Morini 3 1/2
2007 Vespa GTS250
2016 BMW R1200RS, 80 R100S, 76 R90S ,73 R75/5
76 Honda CB400F, 67 305 Super Hawk, 68 CL175

Wildguzzi.com

« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2018, 09:05:34 PM »

oldbike54

« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2018, 09:15:08 PM »
I suspected that... but wow its gorgeous!  I admire the simple beauty of older machines ... but... neither do I own a pickup or stacks of 100 dollar bills !

No doubt they are beautiful , but "simple" they aren't . My best advice is to buy a GB 500 , or convert a 500 Yamaha single into something lovely . The Velocettes had impossible clutches , difficult electrics , and fragile engines .

Dusty

Offline Aaron D.

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2018, 09:32:11 PM »
I've ridden a Thruxton and a Venom Clubman.