Author Topic: To Resistor Cap Or Not To Resistor Cap? That Is The Question!  (Read 8943 times)

Offline Tom H

• Gaggle Hero
Tried the search here as well as Google. Came away confused :undecided:

I'm kinda looking for a yes or no type answer. I'm not an electrical engineer, so much more than that would be lost on me.

So, for my '04 EV. It has resistor plugs. Does it need the NGK plug cap as well? Does this bike suffer from the bad caps that I've read about on other models?

My Eldo and Ambo always have been plug and cap non-resistor. Any reason to go with resistor cap?

I read and understand enough that the resistor cuts down on interference, slows the spark down to make a longer duration spark.

Is it a bad thing to have both plug and cap resistor?

Thank you!!
Tom
2004 Cali EV Touring
1972 Eldo
1970 Ambo V1000
1973 R75/5 SWB with Toaster
2007 HD Street Bob
1953 Triumph 6T (one day it will be on the road!)

Offline guzzisteve

• Gaggle Hero
  • "Just Ride It"
Re: To Resistor Cap Or Not To Resistor Cap? That Is The Question!
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2017, 03:20:26 PM »
I use a resistor cap but not a plug. If you have strait caps then use a resistor plug. Only 1 in spark circuit if at all.
I talked to a Champion Rep and it straitens out the ark. W/O it loos like a lightening bolt and w/1 it is a strait ark, no jagged edges.
"Pray through Carlo & your bike shall be healed"

Offline ITSec

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2017, 04:25:53 PM »
My understanding is one or the other but not both.
ITSecurity
2012 Griso 8v SE - Tenni Green
2013 Stelvio NTX - Copper
2008 Norge GT - Silver

I am but mad north-northwest!
When the wind is southerly, I can tell a hawk from a handsaw...

Offline KiwiKev

• Gaggle Mentor
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2017, 04:43:38 PM »
Resistor does nothing to enhance the spark - just weakens it, IMHO a jagged (lightning bolt) spark will ignite the fuel / air mix better than a clean one.

my bro Kiwi Roy will know the full story :-)