Author Topic: Heated Grips - 2011 V7 Classic  (Read 2761 times)

Offline mthydro

• New Egg
Heated Grips - 2011 V7 Classic
« on: March 31, 2015, 12:58:37 PM »
I've seen a few threads on heated grips already, but I was curious as to what most are using on their V7?

I'm leaning towards the Oxford Heaterz Premium Sport

2011 Moto Guzzi V7 Classic
1986 Vespa PX177E

Offline Moto Fugazzi

• Gaggle Hero
  • Waiting on a sign from God, or a nod from hell.
    • Griso
Re: Heated Grips - 2011 V7 Classic
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2015, 02:13:04 PM »
I've been using Oxford's for over 10 years now. They get very hot on the high setting, and they have the automatic turn off feature, so if you accidentally leave them on, they'll shut off when voltage drops to about 12V. You won't have enough power to start your bike in most cases, but it won't totally drain your battery.
Ken
Ken
2004 V11 Cafe Sport
2009 V7C White
2007 Griso Black-Sold
1978 V50 II Blue-Sold

Offline flangeman_70

• Gosling
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2015, 02:13:24 PM »
I run these on both my bikes.
Flawless  ;-T
You only went to school to learn how to learn

Adam

SP III 1990
V10 Centauro 1996

Offline malik

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2015, 02:54:35 PM »
I run the Oxford Premium Sports on the 1100 Sport & the Aerostich Warm Wraps on the V7C. I prefer the Oxfords - more robust & more convenient, the wraps tend to be a little delicate where the wires join the wrap after about 3 seasons. Both work well & neither get above the lower settings. While they still work, there's no incentive to change the wraps for the grips.

I do prefer the heated glove liners. Much more effective - keep the finger tips & back of the hands warm. The glove liners though need more preparation - can't be just switched on while riding. In an ideal world you'd have both the liners & the grips. I've had no battery problems running either or both.

If you are going to get grips, I'd recommend the Oxfords.

Mal