Author Topic: Personal reactions to emergencies  (Read 5206 times)

Offline Gliderjohn

• Gaggle Hero
Personal reactions to emergencies
« on: July 26, 2019, 10:26:46 PM »
I started riding regularly on the street in 1979. I started flying in 1985. No brag here just personal observation, but I have found that I react to the "unexpected" in a calculating working through it way without any panic feelings to speak of. Not to say that I may not have a WTF self moment and retrospect knee knocking afterward.
My pilot training drilled into me to always keep trying to work through whatever the problem is and not to give up. So...how much is innate and how much is training? How much is luck or guardian angels? Is the above similar for those of us that have survived many years and miles on motorcycles and other adventures in life? Just having curious thoughts this evening. :popcorn:
GliderJohn
John Peters
East Mountains, NM

Online John A

• Gaggle Hero
  • No way to slow down...
Re: Personal reactions to emergencies
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2019, 10:31:20 PM »
Never give up! When things go bad they can go to,real bad in a hurry.  Keep your head in the game is what I try to practice 
John
MGNOC L-471
It is easier to fool people than it is to convince them that they have been fooled-Mark Twain
99 Bassa, sidecar
02 Stone
84 V65C
15 F3S Spyder

Online Huzo

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2019, 10:40:02 PM »
I see what you mean GJ.
I sometimes am accused of being overly pedantic when pointing out ambiguity in explanations. I have worked on being able to explain concepts within my own level of expertise, (such that it is), so the person I’m dealing with can have the best chance of grasping the thrust of what I’m telling him.
Here’s an example from a different sphere.
On a freeway near my home is a sign points to the left that says “Narre Warren Only”
I said to Old Mate “that’s ambiguous”
He said “How so”
My reply
“Does it mean this road only goes to Narre Warren”
Or