Author Topic: Work and Motorcycles  (Read 2534 times)

Offline Crusty

• Gaggle Hero
  • You can't put a price on Worthlessness.
Work and Motorcycles
« on: February 02, 2015, 10:09:25 AM »
Work and Motorcycles

I worked as a Sandhog for almost 20 years, off and on. I had gotten a job as a Miner in 1978 at the Seabrook Power Plant and discovered that I had an aptitude for the work. It was a tough job; working conditions were miserable and there was a constant threat of injury, but I loved it. However, the nature of the work was such that I had to be a Nomad and travel to the next big job, or find a way to get by when the job was done until the next Tunnel job started up. The on again – off again nature of the work appealed to my temperament.

In the early ‘90s, the Big Dig was going strong in the Boston area. There were more Tunnel jobs than I could keep track of.  Not only was the Expressway being moved underground, but the Boston Harbor Clean up was going full bore with its big tunnels. After working on the Inter –Island Tunnel for a couple of years, I was unemployed for a stretch.

In July of ’94, the Business Manager of my Union Local sent me to a small job in Quincy, MA. It was a small Flood Control Tunnel that ran under the downtown area of Quincy. It was a three day job to replace a guy who had hurt himself, but the job wound up lasting two years. It was a Night Shift job (I almost always wound up on Night Shifts), and my hours were from 5:30 PM – 3:30 AM. I would frequently go by my friend’s Bike Shop for an hour or so in the afternoon before I would head off to work.