Author Topic: V50 Monza removing cam’ ‘plate’.  (Read 582 times)

Offline falcone

• Gosling
    • MOTO GUZZI OWNERSHIP - V7 CLASSIC AND BREVA 1100.
V50 Monza removing cam’ ‘plate’.
« on: February 05, 2023, 04:16:08 AM »
Morning all,

Looking to fit an Elektonic Sachse digital ignition system to my Monza.

Has an old Newtronic ignition system and the wiring is frayed, so needs replacing.

I’ve used this system before on bigger Guzzi’s and I’m happy with it.

I’m a limited mechanic and tend only to go up to my limited knowledge.

To fit the Ekektronic Sachse to the V50 Monza will need the cam ‘plate’, weights etc removing and replacing.

Not done this before. The manual is a bit limited, it mentions ‘joint claws of the centrifugal masses in the proper groves (sic) of the cam’ ‘🤭 can guess but it doesn’t make much sense to me. 🙄

Basically, I’ve not tried yet, will it require a puller to take this off? Or will it come off with a little force? Is there anything to watch out for?

Also need to know the cam shaft diameter to be able to order said item (11/12/14 mm). Obviously I can measure once I have access but if anyone knows what the can shaft diameter is for the Monza it would mean I could order!

Many thanks for any replies!

David.
V7 Classic 2008
Falcone Turismo 1955
Aero Merlin Morgan Three Wheeler T3 1000cc Engine.
V50 Monza
Triumph 900 Street Twin.
Honda CD200 Benly.
Royal Enfield Classic Trials.

Offline johnk

• New Egg
Re: V50 Monza removing cam’ ‘plate’.
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2023, 08:29:46 AM »
I put one of these on my Monza and am very happy with it. It's rather finicky to install the trigger and get the timing set but other than that I don't recall any issues.