Author Topic: Cracked Fork Caps - How in over my head am I?  (Read 7625 times)

heaubeau

Cracked Fork Caps - How in over my head am I?
« on: March 29, 2015, 10:33:29 AM »
My (new to me) 1975 T3 has some pretty seriously cracked front form caps, seen here:

I found the replacements, but am relatively new to swinging a wrench (especially on a Guzzi). If I get the parts, how intensive will the replacement operation be (with the understanding that I have next to no idea what I'm doing)? I don't really have any resources (besides you guys) when it comes to this - are there any I'm missing? Should I seal up these caps temporarily until I can replace them?

Thank you!

Offline Lannis

• Gaggle Hero
Re: Cracked Fork Caps - How in over my head am I?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2015, 10:39:40 AM »
I'm no master mechanic, but I have taken apart the forks on my 1000SP, my Cal III, and the upside-down forks on my '09 Stelvio, and came out of the experience unscathed.

There's nothing trick about them, and nothing that will come springing out and flying across the shop into a quantum discontinuity and disappear forever.   

I'd get hold of a manual or an Internet set of directions, figure out what kind of tools you'll need, and go for it .....

Lannis
"Hard pounding, this, gentlemen; let's see who pounds the longest".

Offline Stevex

• Gaggle Mentor
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2015, 11:38:25 AM »
Can you turn them round to hide the cracks? It's only a dust seal after all.
Otherwise you'll need to drop the forks to replace them.

Offline pressureangle

• Gaggle Mentor
  • '97 1100 Sport i, '89 Mille GT
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2015, 12:03:01 PM »
First, if you ride 'clean', that is your bike rarely gets wet or dirty I'd just cut them off and forget them. Wipe down the tubes with silicone lubricant whenever you see dust or dirt.