Author Topic: Touring bike questions  (Read 6207 times)

Offline keener

• Gosling
Touring bike questions
« on: January 29, 2017, 01:28:57 PM »
This year i have decided to acquire a used bike for long distance touring....
the bike must be comfortable for all day..passenger comfort is important because of some back issues.
Reliability is of course is expected ..Price is important aswell
I am considering a newer Stelvio  2013 plus... Perhaps a Cali 1400 2014   
a Cali Vintage 2007 has come up for sale  , and believe it or not a 2006 Yamaha Road liner deluxe.. the price is awesome the bike well loved .
Any input would be appreciated, i am new to floorboards and cruisers , but in this case and for the intended purpose they would probably be fine ...as i have other bikes to play with solo  :smiley:
Thank you

« Last Edit: January 29, 2017, 01:30:38 PM by keener »
smile and tremble
1974 Z1 Kawasaki since new
1998 Suzuki 1200 Bandit
2005 Ducati Multistrada 1000s
2007 Guzzi 1100 Griso
2015 Kawasaki Versys 1000

Online Kev m

• Not your normal Hombre
  • Gaggle Hero
  • Yo from Medford, NJ
Re: Touring bike questions
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2017, 01:58:27 PM »
Unfortunately the real input has to come from you and your pillion.

All the mentioned choices have the ability to fill the role.

It's going to come down to preferences.

I will say that if roominess is a factor the bigger the bike (frame/length/wheelbase) the more you'll get.

I'm not familiar enough with the Yamaha but of the others the Cal-Vin would offer the least roominess and the Cali 1400 the most.

If weight or height are concerns the Cali 1400 is the heaviest of the 3, but shortest (which helps hide the weight).

If smoothness underway is a concern the Cali 1400 gets the nod.

But ergos and what puts a smile on the rider's face are very personal.