Author Topic: Tire Changing Advice Requested  (Read 7082 times)

Offline sib

• Gaggle Hero
  • Location: Smallest state, 221 times smaller than Texas, often compared to the size of an oil slick, forest fire, or ice sheet
Tire Changing Advice Requested
« on: May 01, 2016, 01:00:17 PM »
NO, this isn't another tire thread.  My V7II Stone has 8000 miles on it and it needs new tires.  I already know I'm putting on Pirelli Sport Demons, I've already bought them, so there's no need to talk about that.  I'm looking for advice about the best way to remove the wheels, pry off the tires and mount the new ones.  Is there a trick to getting the wheels off?  Do I need (or is it easier) to pull off the bevel drive?  What brands of tire irons (spoons?) are good?  Do I need special stuff to insure a good rim seal?  Do I need to balance the tires?  Any other advice out there?  I should say that I'm pretty handy with tools but I have no recent experience with motorcycle tires.  Many thanks in advance for all advice, hints, and warnings.  Sam
Current: 2021 V7 Stone E5
Previous: 2016 V7II Stone
Previous: 2013 V7 Stone
Several decades ago: 1962? Honda CB77 Super Hawk

oldbike54

Re: Tire Changing Advice Requested
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2016, 01:09:55 PM »
 I prefer Metz , er , never mind  :rolleyes: There are several really good tutorials on youtube .

Dusty

Offline sib

• Gaggle Hero
  • Location: Smallest state, 221 times smaller than Texas, often compared to the size of an oil slick, forest fire, or ice sheet
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2016, 01:40:27 PM »
I prefer Metz , er , never mind  :rolleyes: There are several really good tutorials on youtube .

Dusty
Oh, come on, Dusty, surely you could be more helpful :grin:  I already know how to find things on the web.  I'm looking for special insights from this distinguished collection of guzzisti.  With all the opinions usually flung around here, I'm certain that you all have opinions about how to properly change a tire.