Author Topic: V7 Racer shocks adjustment (help)  (Read 6651 times)

Offline Nicoman

• New Egg
V7 Racer shocks adjustment (help)
« on: January 19, 2016, 01:17:15 PM »
Hi there!

I recently bought me a V7 Racer for my 40th birthday, it is my very first bike (I already learned how to ride back in my teens though). Thing is, since i'm a heck of a newbie I don't know how to adjust the suspension, I mean, i know how to turn the knobs, rings and stuff  :wink: ...what i'm asking for is: what should i consider when adjusting the spring preload, rebound damping and compression damping? what should I look for? I've been searching the internet for some kind of instructions or advice, but couldn't find anything directly related to this Bitubo shocks...

The front suspension doesn't seem to have any adjustments.

My weight is around 154 pounds, just in case.

Maybe it's a stupid question, i'm really new to motorcycle mechanics ;)

I'll appreciate any advice...

thanks!  :bike-037:

Offline pyoungbl

• Gaggle Hero
Re: V7 Racer shocks adjustment (help)
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2016, 01:47:44 PM »
The Race Tech Motorcycle Suspension Bible is probably the best reference there is for dealing with your problem.  Amazon has this in a Kindle edition for about $13, the hard copy is about $27.  You will learn how to adjust your piggyback shocks, how to determine sag, and some options for the forks.  Hey, it's winter so this is a good time to do some reading.

You are right about the forks, not any external adjustments.  I found the forks to be too stiff for my 200# so I ended up installing weaker springs and the RT emulators.  Then I had to adjust the air gap and preload by trial and error.  The end result is pretty good, not Ohlins quality but certainly not anywhere near Ohlins cost.  Others have been satisfied with OEM and just lighter weight oil in the forks.

Good luck,
Peter Y.
Growing old ain't for sissies.

'13 V7 Special (red/white)

Offline Dilliw

• Gaggle Hero