Author Topic: Resurrecting a '75 850T  (Read 2269 times)

Offline RevDave

• New Egg
Resurrecting a '75 850T
« on: May 11, 2020, 07:23:58 PM »
This past weekend I purchased a 1975 Moto Guzzi 850T from a neighbor, who explained that it's been sitting in his garage and hasn't run for 10 to 15 years.  The bike is dirty as can be, and the inside of the gas tank looks like an EPA Superfund site.  (Frankly, that's the least of my worries as I've cleaned out and re - phosphate coated more than a few rusty motorcycle gas tanks over the past few years.)   And while I've owned and worked on dozens of bikes over the years and done everything from minor tune-ups to major overhauls, I've never worked on a Moto Guzzi before. 

The bike is complete, except for the headlight, as the previous owner had mounted a Vetter Windjammer fairing, which I do not plan to use.  As a result, I'll need to find a headlight and shell to replace the missing unit.  the bike also included a set of Krauser luggage with the racks already mounted on the bike - the fate of which I'm not too sure about at this point...   But the most amazing part is that the bike has a total of 4,458 miles -- and no, that is correct...  (Not 44,580 or some other number, but 4,458 total miles since new.)  The bike even came with two sets of keys and a ton of paperwork dating all the way back to the year of it's purchase in 1978 - apparently from the original owner, as well as the original 0wner's Manual and a Haynes Shop manual.

My primary questions are as follows:

1.  What pitfalls or weird issues specific to this bike am I likely to run across?