Author Topic: ABS  (Read 2512 times)

Offline Borsig

• New Egg
  • Do something that scares you, I ride bikes
ABS
« on: February 19, 2021, 05:06:08 AM »
Hi Guys, I am Mark and I'm new to this social media thing, it has just taken 20 minutes to work out how to post a topic.  Tthis is the first social media group I ever joined so bear with me.

I have a 2012 Stelvio and need some advice about ABS, I am hoping there is someone out there who may have had similar problems.  I am not new to bikes and have been riding since 1975, I have owned at least 40 bikes over the years, including at least 8 Guzzis but this is the first bike with ABS and its got me stumped.  I spent 25 years as a bike mechanic and I specialsed in Italian bikes, but that was before all the modern electronics got piled on.  I like to think I can get myself out of any problems and I usually can but this one is a puzzler.

After owning the Stelvio for about 5 years the front brake suddenly started pulling in an extra inch towards the handlebar, it still worked as usual but had this extra travel.  The book says that ABS will not affect normal brake operations unless activated, which it wasn't as far as I know.  I stopped and tried various pumping actions at the lever and everything went back to normal.  It did it again a few days later, and again, and again.  Sometimes it would do it the next day, somtimes I would get a week or more between bouts.  I checked the fluid level, stripped and cleaned the pads and everything seemed good but it still carried on doing it.  It only ever did it once in a day and at no time did the ABS light show activation.