Author Topic: Sacred Screw Reset  (Read 6400 times)

Online Kiwi_Roy

• Gaggle Hero
Sacred Screw Reset
« on: June 04, 2020, 12:26:44 AM »
Huzo asked me about 18 months back how one would go about resetting the sacred screw on a throttle body that had been messed with.
I explained to him that I am an Instrument Technician; measuring stuff is what we do for a living. Measuring gas flows is possible but it's tricky because you have to take temperature pressure and other factors into account, its always much easier to measure liquid flows, because for one thing you can see what's happening and you don't need an expensive flow meter you just need an accurate measure of volume or weight and a stopwatch for flow rate. I have been meaning to try this for a long time so today I put together a rig so that I could measure the flow through my Griso 1100 throttle bodies.

Then why do they use a flow bench in the factory I hear you ask? The factory has loads of cash and they don't want liquids leaking out all over the place.
What we all have is a source of water.
When an instrument designer has to specify a valve its standard to pick one by the quantity of water they will flow based on opening and pressure drop this is known as the Cv rating
Even valves that are designed to work with gasses are quantified by their Cv rating.
First of all I had to find an accurate method of measuring flow, I found a glass bottle with a fill line at 500 ML and checked its accuracy by weight, 1 Litre of water weighs 1 Kg, which is very convenient so I filled the container 8 times and verified the weight to be 4 Kg

I then proceeded to take a measurement of the Left Hand throttle body, lots of leaks and water later I found that the Left Hand throttle body passes half a litre of water in around 20 seconds (3 Litres/minute) sitting on the unmolested stop If I blip the throttle the valve may not come back to the exact setting but its always between 18.5 and 23 seconds to flow 500 ML