Author Topic: Any Pennsylvania/Kentucky Rifle Experts Here?  (Read 9300 times)

Bill Hagan

Any Pennsylvania/Kentucky Rifle Experts Here?
« on: February 02, 2015, 10:27:11 AM »
[WARNING: This is, as is my lamentable practice, a long post, so if you actually read it, don’t carp about its length.  I can’t help it, and you were on notice.  Go elsewhere now, or get a beer and read on.  :BEER:]

I ask this rifle question because I am puzzled by one we have over our mantle.  Modern kit or old original?

I have launched a few rounds downrange from all sorts of weapons over the years, but I am no expert in any, and am certainly ignorant of anything beyond the basics of the Pennsylvania/Kentucky Rifle, as, e.g., here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long_rifle

Ours is a percussion model.  Maybe it always was, as the absence of a patch box would seem to indicate it was never a flintlock.  It may also simply be a modern kit.  Given the popularity of such, that is possible to even likely.  But, I’d like to know. 

I was going to post this inquiry on a website all about these beautiful and historic rifles — http://americanlongrifles.org — but decided that I’d ask here first as I have yet to see an off-topic question not met with a knowledgeable response.  Heck, we probably have one or more experts on 14th century Persian sewing thimbles here.  ;)

[BTW, check out the detailed and quite interesting posting rules over there: http://americanlongrifles.org/american-longrifles-privacy-policy-2.htm?action=recent.   :o]

Anyway, I have tried (and failed) to find the name engraved on the muzzle flat — “L. Miller” ?? — on the web or in the two classic works by Gluckman (American Gunmakers), https://ia700802.us.archive.org/14/items/gunmaker00satt/gunmaker00satt.pdf, and Kauffman (The Pennsylvania-Kentucky Rifle), http://www.amazon.com/The-Pennsylvania-Kentucky-Rifle-Henry-Kauffman/dp/188329455X.