Author Topic: Rear Shocks  (Read 2062 times)

Offline JProdun

• Hatchling
Rear Shocks
« on: November 20, 2015, 11:53:32 AM »
First, don't want to seem apologetic, but I do apologize if some of my questions annoy some of the members on the forum... Things is, I'm relatively new to motorcycling and do like to hand my hands dirty as suppose to bringing my bike to the shop every time.

So the questions is in regards to adjusting the rear shocks on my '14 MY V7.

I just want to know how to make sure that they are even after I've adjusted them.

Want to play around before getting into aftermarket stuff.

Thank you!

Poncho

Re: Rear Shocks
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2015, 01:54:48 PM »
jp, well you could use a black marker and mark your current settings on the threads. If you put yor stone on a lift and get that rear wheel off the ground to unload tension on the spring, you would have to run the spanner nut all the way down to its start point. mark the nut and count how many full rotations back up to your desired setting. write that number down. then do the other shock the same number of rotations..

or if you've got really good eyesight and can count threads (I cant, keep loosing my place), you might be able to get close to even? poncho

Offline fotoguzzi

• Gaggle Hero
  • vee git tooh soon oldt und too late wise -my Dad
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2015, 05:13:11 PM »
your questions are not annoying and perfectly in sync with this forum. keep em coming..
MINNEAPOLIS, MN

Offline jacksonracingcomau

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2015, 05:50:09 PM »
I use a steel rule, measure between spring seat (fixed) and spring seat (adjustable), make sure both are same, From this point you can add or reduce preload in even amounts, ie one turn each side.

Wildguzzi.com

« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2015, 05:50:09 PM »

Offline O

• Gosling
  • Don't force it, get a bigger hammer.
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2015, 05:52:15 PM »