Author Topic: V50 Monza - new member hello and bike issues  (Read 599 times)

Offline Foster212

• New Egg
V50 Monza - new member hello and bike issues
« on: January 10, 2023, 03:40:07 AM »
Hello everyone.

I've just joined this forum after much reading and decided to post. I'm from Australia and recently inherited a v50 monza.  I'm slowly learning that it's had a few botched jobs and finding a fair few aftermarket parts.
My biggest challenge right now is getting the carbs adjusted correctly, I just can't get them balanced properly and adjusting the air/fuel mixture the same on both sides gives me conflicting information. Running rich seems like it's running lean and vice versa.
Now I have minimal knowledge with bikes and cars but a little with cars. I'm a bank manager by trade so out of depth but I don't mind getting my hands dirty and learning.

My bike has aftermarket pod filters (I read here that people have been having trouble getting them to fit) that touch each other, one has a bit of an indent from the other one pushing. One of the throttle cables in the aftermarket twist grip doesn't sit right and the sleeve falls out. Still connected though but I've noticed it will come out. I'm assuming this is throwing the slide out on one side when accelerating and trying to tune.

My question is what parts should I focus on with adjustments, can someone please explain exactly what each screw does, things i should focus on in general for maintenance and improvement and any tips or tricks.

Apologies if anything makes no sense.

Online Antietam Classic Cycle

• Gaggle Hero
  • Happily stuck in the past.
    • Antietam Classic Cycle
Re: V50 Monza - new member hello and bike issues
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2023, 08:35:44 AM »