Author Topic: Why dealerships exist for vehicles?  (Read 3843 times)

bpreynolds

Why dealerships exist for vehicles?
« on: December 12, 2017, 08:50:02 AM »
It’s the information age, I’m a librarian and 46 years old (so a little tiny bit of my own worldliness), and I’m sure I can find this info with little effort but it’s always nice getting it from experienced and worldly folks here.  And too, I’m not even close to being an economist, historian, or businessman so this is likely why I’m missing the answer here.  And let me first say right up front, I have no beefs remotely with dealers.  I like the ones I deal with just fine. 

So among the many things I often ridiculously ponder  :grin: I wonder how the idea of “dealerships” got started for motor vehicles.  And, I guess, primarily how buying a car, motorcycle, etc. ever became different than say buying an item with so called standardized pricing. Like, why doesn’t Toyota just have Toyota “shops” instead of dealerships with all autos sold at a given and fairly even across board price?  Quite obviously, the dealership and salesmen profit from this current setup but does the manufacturer really profit greatly from a dealership so to speak?  Why this over and above say a standard markup on the item sold at a shop setup.  Okay, as I type this out it starts to sound kinda ridiculous a little but I’d still love to learn some history and such on it. 

Offline Kev m

• Not your normal Hombre
  • Gaggle Hero
  • Yo from Medford, NJ
Re: Why dealerships exist for vehicles?
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2017, 08:56:24 AM »
I'll be curious to hear the answers from those who know more...

...if I had to take a SWAG I'd say it was a combination of the following:

1. Vehicles were (and certainly are now) too expensive for the average consumer to walk in and plunk down cash and drive away.

2. Vehicles often needed dealer set-up/prep.

3. Vehicles needed a lot more service (and warranty work).