Author Topic: Petcock use on old Ambo  (Read 1249 times)

Offline ampm7

• Gosling
Petcock use on old Ambo
« on: September 23, 2020, 10:26:59 AM »
I have a 1970 Ambassador and just put new petcocks in and want to know what is the proper usage of them. Both on at same time, right or left on separately; as it seems when I use both of them the left cylinder gets too much gas. Charlie can you chime in? Thanks
1970 Moto Guzzi Ambassador, 1998 EV, Honda 1972 850 Ambassador, 2022 Indian Super Chief Limited

Offline Antietam Classic Cycle

• Gaggle Hero
  • Happily stuck in the past.
    • Antietam Classic Cycle
Re: Petcock use on old Ambo
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2020, 11:31:15 AM »
Do the new petcocks have a reserve position? If so, I'd run with both on. A word of warning: several of my customers have had issues with the new square petcocks: the rubber seal inside rotates and restricts fuel flow and/or won't stop fuel flow when they're off.

Charlie

Offline ampm7

• Gosling
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2020, 12:00:42 PM »
Charlie, I took off those square petcocks as they would not fully shut off. So, if I left the bike on the side stand the left cylinder would flood over a period of time and when starting would foul the plug plus, it probably put gas into the cylinder. I got the later ones that MGCycle sells which need to have the strainers removed before they can be inserted into the adapters. They work quite well as they don't leak and they are the same orientation on both sides. So, you are saying to keep both open at the same time?
1970 Moto Guzzi Ambassador, 1998 EV, Honda 1972 850 Ambassador, 2022 Indian Super Chief Limited

Offline Kiwi_Roy

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2020, 12:33:45 PM »
I resurrected the original square ones on my Eldorado I only turn one on and the other acts like a reserve.
17 V7III Special
76 Convert
Half a V9 Roamer

Moto Guzzi - making electricians out of riders since March 15 1921

Wildguzzi.com