Author Topic: Trying to change V7C air filter, and can't get airbox cover out of the frame  (Read 1117 times)

Offline sstone14

• New Egg
I started this process based on these instructions:

https://flickr.com/photos/sign216/albums/72157638864403325/with/11470971416/

But it turns out I can't fit the airbox cover out between the frame, the cylinder, and the exhaust (I have no idea how Joe did it to the V7C in these pictures--seems like black magic based on my experience so far).

So it seems like I'll have to remove the gas tank to perform this maintenance after all (see previous post on this matter here: https://wildguzzi.com/forum/index.php?topic=115734.0).

Since everyone is telling me not to remove the gas tank, though, does it make more sense to remove the exhaust header? I've never done that before either, so any input is much appreciated.

Should I remove the gas tank? And if so, how do I do that?

OR

Should I remove the exhaust header pipe to make room to fit the airbox cover out between the frame and the cylinder? And if so, what do I need to know before jumping into that project?

Thanks y'all.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2022, 02:25:18 AM by sstone14 »
'10 V7 Classic

Offline guzzisteve

• Gaggle Hero
  • "Just Ride It"
Have you tried taking off the voltage regulator and coming out the front? This is what pic #2 is about, Try that.
Study pic #2, says horns too.
"Pray through Carlo & your bike shall be healed"

Offline sstone14

• New Egg
Have you tried taking off the voltage regulator and coming out the front? This is what pic #2 is about, Try that.
Study pic #2, says horns too.

Hi Steve,