Author Topic: For you flyboys: Large collection of antique aviation engines and parts  (Read 1177 times)

Online Antietam Classic Cycle

• Gaggle Hero
  • Happily stuck in the past.
    • Antietam Classic Cycle
Found on Facebook Marketplace:

Large collection of antique aviation engines and parts.
Essex, MD · 20 hours ago

(1) Complete Curtiss OXX5   engine
(4) Franklin engines
(2) Continental engines
(1) VW engine
Plus many, many extra parts for Curtiss OX5 & OX6,  Franklin, Continental, and Lycoming engines.
Carbs, starters,magnetos, lower cases, tooling, gauges, propellers, wings, body parts, landing skies, literature and memorabilia, etc..too much to list.
I originally posted this stuff a little over a year ago, then my son was in a near fatal car accident and everything in my life came to a screaming stop.
I’m back on track and I need to sell these parts.  I purchased a shop that was previously owned by an old aviation mechanic that passed away.
I am not an aviation mechanic but I am doing my best to accurately identify all items and to answer all your questions.  I am willing to sell items individual but I am really trying to find a collector that would  like to make an offer for everything.  Please, serious inquires only through private message.  Thank you. Ken Ellison, Middle River, MD.

Charlie

Offline Roebling3

• Gaggle Hero
A friend is always looking for an inverted 4 or 6 cyl. air cooled Ranger engine.
Too much to hope for? Anyone?  R3~   

Offline Tusayan

• Gaggle Hero
A Ranger should be findable - they made a lot of them. 

The Continentals pictured look like later flange crank A-65s... or maybe C-85s.  the latter are worth a lot more.  These remain a mainstream engine flown every day and are believe it or not completely rebuildable from the form shown.

Franklins are good engines still used in Stinsons etc.  Parts are hard to get and you can see one of these has been picked over for cylinders.  Good parts engines at least, possibly rebuildable.