Author Topic: V7 III Stone for a Beginner?  (Read 13467 times)

Offline Wild1_OR

• Hatchling
  • Whaddaya got?
V7 III Stone for a Beginner?
« on: August 25, 2020, 04:52:33 PM »
Hello, I'm a beginner rider and quite a large Individual. It's for this reason that a sub-300cc first motorcycle isn't an option. I'm attempting to find a balance between a lighter weight bike with a conservative cylinder capacity and a bike that's big enough to adequately and safely support me.

I've done extensive research and when compared on a spreadsheet with other makes/models with similar specifications, I found that the V7 III Stone might best check the boxes, with its 461 lbs curb weight, 744cc engine, 463 lbs weight capacity and upright seating position.

I wish to ask the forum if it might be too much bike for a beginner though? I admit that I'm feeling sorta intimidated. Thank you.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2020, 04:54:32 PM by Wild1_OR »
2018 V7 III Stone Azzurro Elettrico

Offline malik

• Gaggle Hero
Re: V7 III Stone for a Beginner?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2020, 05:32:32 PM »
For a beginner, I'd be happier recommending an Enfield single - the 300 & the 500 are similar weights, the riding position is comfortable and the footpegs are a short step to the ground (important when learning), the handing is exceptionally light, and they are by no means intimidating. They are easy to pick up when they go over (you will drop it, it's normal, even after you've got the hang of things), economical to run, fairly cheap to buy, I've a maye of around 120kg (fluctuating), although an experienced rider, really enjoys knocking around on his 300, albeit a second bike in the garage. They are just so easy to ride. Whatever bike you go on to after that, you'll always have a soft spot for the long stroke single.
2010 V7 Classic, 2014 V7 Special
1996 1100 Sport Carb (in NZ), 2004 V11 LeMans (in UK)
Carberry Enfield V-Twin, 2008 Royal Enfield Electra, 2006 RE Electra 535

Offline stonelover

• Gosling