Author Topic: Why do we buy a guzzi?  (Read 4612 times)

Offline Bulldog9

• Gaggle Hero
Re: Why do we buy a guzzi?
« Reply #30 on: September 03, 2019, 06:46:44 PM »
For me, Guzzi is the only brand that builds what I consider a 'proper' motorcycle.

- Air Cooled
- Shaft Drive
- Better than average handing and braking
- Simple (self) servicing
- Character

Like most,  I knew about Moto Guzzi since I started riding in the 70's and always admired the brand, but never had an opportunity to see one other than a few of the older (70's) Ambo/Eldo models in the mid 80's. I started riding UJM's in the 70's, the typical CB, GS, and XS bikes, and though I kept my 1979 XS1100, migrated by necessity to water-cooled inline 4's culminating with an FJR (and slowly lost my passion for riding).

In 2015, on a fluke, I test rode a Griso 1100, and 'discovered' what I had been missing in my riding. I traded the FJR for the Griso, added a Norge, then a V7. I'm not so much brand loyal, as much as Guzzi providing what is (to me) the purist essence of what a Motorcycle should be.... I've never been as satisfied riding as I am on any of my Guzzis.....
MGNOC#23231
The Living: 1976 Convert, 2004 Breva 750, 2007 GRiSO, 2008 1200 Sport, 2016 Stornello #742,
The Departed: 2017 MGX, 2014 Norge GT, 
In Stasis: 1978 XS750, XS1100SF

Offline lucian

• Gaggle Hero
« Reply #31 on: September 03, 2019, 07:31:16 PM »