Author Topic: Spot going back together  (Read 6484 times)

Online Chuck in Indiana

• Gaggle Hero
Spot going back together
« on: May 01, 2016, 05:52:38 PM »
The Kid found his 94 Spot, unloved, laying on it's side in a barn. It had been involved in a low speed altercation, slid off the trailer and left in the barn to die. Naturally he decided it needed rescued. When he got it home, it wouldn't turn over. Grumbled and went to bed. The next day, he pulled a head and found the cylinder full of sunflower seeds.  :smiley: Somehow, the little boogers had apparently gotten in through the exhaust and an open exhaust valve. To make a epic story (kind of) short, he quickly got it running and found out the clutch was slipping and the transmission whining.  :shocked: As I've mentioned before, "Sometimes, free is too much."  :smiley:
Undaunted, he trailered it down to Indiana, and we replaced the clutch and rear main while we were at it. Then we tackled the transmission. Since I was an expert.. :rolleyes: .. (I had done the transmission on the Strada with tutorials from Pete and John Noble on this old tractor) he asked me if I would walk him through it. After we opened it up he said, "Oh, I see how this stuff works, what was I worried about?"  :smiley: We put in new gears, courtesy of Jim Barron, seals, replaced the plastic caged bearings, and shimmed the shift drum.
Also, from this site, a snippet from Pete on wheel removal:
, remove the rear wheel, (In and of itself a pain in the arse as I think it's the Sport 'C' that has the weird two part wheel spindle. The bevelbox is best disconnect from the torque rod and this will allow the wheel and box to be removed as one after the brake is out of the way. Keep an eye out for spacers and such, I seem to remember there are a few.
That was a mite of an understatement.
This was all BC. (Before Cancer)  :wink: