Author Topic: This Week's Story, April 21st  (Read 1004 times)

Offline mhershon

• Gosling
This Week's Story, April 21st
« on: April 21, 2021, 01:57:27 PM »
Sixty Years Ago

I started riding in 1962, surprising no one more than myself. I'd never imagined I'd be a motorcyclist, never dreamed about bikes. I lusted after sports cars, sanitized, middle-class motorsport.

My vision of sixties sports-motoring was reading Road & Track and listening to hi-fi records of Stirling Moss downshifting. It was cloth caps, thin-soled shoes and tweed jackets with elbow patches. It was waving at other import drivers.

Sadly, sports cars of the era, even MGs and Triumphs, were expensive to buy and maintain. I thought I might never own a truly exciting automobile.

Then in '61 I bought an Austin 850, one of the first Minis that came to the US. Though great fun to drive, that mousy gray car looked strange indeed on early-'60s American roads, dwarfed even by the crummy new "compacts" Detroit reluctantly produced.

After a year or so, wildly overreaching, I traded the Mini for an old Jag, a lovely XK120 fixed-head. It promised paradise and delivered hell-fire. I sold it, a non-runner, its head gasket blown. I couldn't afford to fix it.

Just by chance, the guy who bought it and towed it away was the owner of the Honda-BSA-BMW store in Indianapolis, my hometown. That coincidence may have been the turning point of my life.

He paid me so little for the crippled Jag he felt sorry for me, offering a good deal on any bike I might want. His proposition couldn't have tempted me less. I wanted a TR-3 or MGA. I figured I'd join a club and compete in low-key rallies.

I'd never known a motorcyclist. I hadn't seen The Wild Ones, but I knew all about bikers. Unwashed misfits, rednecks and outlaws, right? Harley riders. Guys with jailhouse tattoos who pumped gas and dated thin-faced truckstop waitresses.