Author Topic: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.  (Read 4052 times)

Offline ds99

  • New Goose
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« on: March 06, 2015, 12:17:53 PM »
 The bike is a 2011 V7 classic, here in the UK. (The ECU is the standard 15RC one)

Todd at guzzitech did a re-flash on the ECU, that seemed to improve the low-revs power delivery, made it smoother under 3,000 RPM.

I bought the Centurion software in order to reset the TPS

Firstly, on the V7 you have to choose "install older versions" in order for the software to work. After some time on the phone to technoresearch I got the software working.

The problem is the TPS reset does not work. The TPS figure reads 3.0, I do the reset, and it count downs from 10, it hangs at 1 for a few seconds, then says "ECU not responding", with "FAIL" at the bottom. I tried it a few times, tried resetting the computer etc.

Then I discover than if I advance the throttle slightly (using the 'choke' lever on the left hand side of the handlebars) so the TPS reads 4.2 then the TPS reset works fine.

Has anyone else had this problem? Or anything similar?
« Last Edit: March 06, 2015, 04:42:31 PM by ds99 »

Online sign216

  • Guzzi Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4305
    • Modern Guzzi 750s - Breva, Nevada, V7C, etc
  • Location: Taunton, Massachusetts
Re: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2015, 12:38:23 PM »
Ds99,

I saw you posted this on GuzziTech, which is the right place for this question.  In the past, on that site they had a great thread or sticky on solving Centurion issues.  Do a search, and it may still be there under Centurion's old name: VDST (vehicle diagnostic scan tool).

If you don't find an answer, then I'll look through my files and get a solution.  I've got a VDST that I used on my V7.  It's quirky, and you have to know the tricks, but once it's sorted out it's a good tool.

Joe
09 Guzzi V7C
58 BMW R50
65 Gilera 106
69 Benelli 350

https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/MG_750/info


Offline pauldaytona

  • Guzzi Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
    • Paul's fast Guzzi Page
Re: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2015, 01:00:08 PM »
So what value do you think it should have after reset?

I think it should be 3.0 so I see no problem. If you open the throttle a bit and do then rest it will goto 3.0 too I think. So only problem left is that centurion throws an error, but the reset is working fine. Just send these centurion guys a mail.
Paul

Daytona 1225, Stelvio 1151





Download Guzzidiag here: http://www.von-der-salierburg.de/download/GuzziDiag/

Offline ds99

  • New Goose
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2015, 02:59:22 PM »
yes, 3.0 is not the problem.

if i open the throttle to 4.2, then do a reset, it works fine. i am just concerned something is wrong as it will not perform the reset unless i open the throttle, and hold it open during the reset procedure. eg will this make it run too rich?

Online Kev m

  • Not your normal Hombre
  • Guzzi Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 28112
  • Yo from Medford, NJ
Re:
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2015, 03:41:51 PM »
Wouldn't holding the throttle open and resetting it at that point (telling the ECM the throttle is closed essentially) make it run leaner across the whole range because the ECM will never think the throttle is as open as it is?

Though the amount we're talking might not matter.
Current Fleet

18 Guzzi V7III Carbon Dark
16 HD FLHP
13 Guzzi V7 Stone
11 Duc M696
07 HD XL1200Lr

Offline Kiwi_Roy

  • Guzzi Hero
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 6964
Re: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2015, 03:42:15 PM »
Why not just measure the millivolts with a multimeter, perhaps your TPS has a dead spot.

Sorry I don't understand why you are trying to do a hardware task via software.

Which ECU do you have?
« Last Edit: March 06, 2015, 03:46:03 PM by Kiwi_Roy »
72 Eldorado
07 Griso 1100
17 V7iii Special

Moto Guzzi - making electricians out of riders since 1921

Offline pauldaytona

  • Guzzi Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2435
    • Paul's fast Guzzi Page
Re: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2015, 04:01:18 PM »
yes, 3.0 is not the problem.

if i open the throttle to 4.2, then do a reset, it works fine. i am just concerned something is wrong as it will not perform the reset unless i open the throttle, and hold it open during the reset procedure. eg will this make it run too rich?

if you do it while holding open it will go to zero when closed, when you do a reset at that point, it should be 3.0 again and al is working fine, the error is no issue.  What you can try, is to see if there are errors in the ecu, and clear them, before reset.
Paul

Daytona 1225, Stelvio 1151





Download Guzzidiag here: http://www.von-der-salierburg.de/download/GuzziDiag/

Online Kev m

  • Not your normal Hombre
  • Guzzi Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 28112
  • Yo from Medford, NJ
Re: Re: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2015, 04:30:55 PM »
Why not just measure the millivolts with a multimeter, perhaps your TPS has a dead spot.

Sorry I don't understand why you are trying to do a hardware task via software.

Which ECU do you have?

On some models the tps mounting is fixed, so you zero the value electronically which basically teaches the ECM to regard whatever millivolt signal it produces at that point as idle and adjusts the throttle opening curve from that point.
Current Fleet

18 Guzzi V7III Carbon Dark
16 HD FLHP
13 Guzzi V7 Stone
11 Duc M696
07 HD XL1200Lr

Online Kiwi Dave

  • Guzzi Hero
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 1050
    • Guzzi Gander Ltd
  • Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Re: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2015, 04:31:20 PM »
Why not just measure the millivolts with a multimeter, perhaps your TPS has a dead spot.

Sorry I don't understand why you are trying to do a hardware task via software.

Which ECU do you have?

I posted a similar reaction on GuzziTech.  Since the bike is 2001, I believe the TPS has to be set manually, like the older Californias.  The first model to reset the TPS electronically was the Breva 1100 in 2005.

It should be easy to determine, if it is to be set manually, the TPS will have slots under the mounting screws to allow for manual adjustment; if it is an electronic reset (which I doubt) there will be no ability to rotate the position of the TPS.

Offline ds99

  • New Goose
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2015, 04:41:36 PM »
Sorry, my typing mistake, it is a 2011 V7 Classic

As shown here:


Offline Wayne Orwig

  • Guzzi Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 12600
    • Hog Mountain weather
  • Location: Hog Mountain
Re: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2015, 08:45:11 PM »
So glad I gave up on TechnoResearch and switched to GuzziDiag.
Nothing like saving a LOAD of cash, and doing the job better.
Scientist have discovered that people will believe anything, if you first say "Scientist have discovered...."

Offline guzzisteve

  • Guzzi Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 8406
  • "Just Ride It"
Re: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2015, 09:06:32 PM »
When you swapped out the ECU you should hit the reset for "Self Adjusting Parameters" then a TPS reset. Otherwise the software may not recognize the ECU and you will get a "No Communication".
My guess is when you move the TPS it then recognizes it.  Just unplugging the batt and rebooting it is not all you have to do w/changing a major component.
"Pray through Carlo & your bike shall be healed"
Location: Planet Earth

Offline ds99

  • New Goose
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2015, 01:49:55 AM »
the software recognises the ECU, it communicates with it fine. but it will not perform a TPS reset unless I hold the throttle open very slightly

Offline ds99

  • New Goose
  • *
  • Posts: 9

Offline guzzisteve

  • Guzzi Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 8406
  • "Just Ride It"
Re: Centurion TPS reset problem with V7 classic - help.
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2015, 06:29:17 AM »
 At 3.0 it does not need to be reset and is within parameters, then the software won't do anything.
"Pray through Carlo & your bike shall be healed"
Location: Planet Earth

 


Advertise your products today. All proceeds go back into this website.
Your ad will show up over 10,000 times daily!
Advertise Here